Big guns never tire

2017-02-25-12-25-40Hu-what?! Two posts in one month?

That’s right, I’ve most definitely entered stage three of my wargaming and hobby cycle. I’m thinking lately that a large part of the wisdom of experience is just being around long enough that eventually, no matter how thick you are, you notice your own patterns and habits – both short and long term. I’ve come to peace with the fact that I like the odd game, and I enjoy painting models (so long as it’s reasonably varied and interesting) but I get to “urgh, too much” quite quickly with respect to both.

In response to this, I seem to have developed an unconscious habit. I get excited by something new about once every two years or so, bite off a manageable chunk, then tweak models and background to my satisfaction so that it can fit more-or-less organically into my existing collection. At the moment I have two manageable chunks in mind, one for SAGA and one for 40k.

I mentioned a while back that I got some Pictish models. Well now my Aetius and Arthur book has arrived, and I realised that with my three historical warbands of Picts, Irish and Vikings, I am now fully equipped to accurately fight petty wars and raids the length and breadth of dark ages Scotland! Let’s hear it for extremely narrow historical/geographic gaming windows! Sorry, I think this is probably funnier to me as an Australian than it would be to a European. I know there were several rich, disparate cultures – entire kingdoms even – fighting for supremacy. But it’s just kind of funny that they were doing so in an area that’s probably smaller than some of the great West Australian cattle properties of the 1800s… which had about sixty people on them. I just imagine that the Picts and the Scots must have been very tiny.

Now, to 40k. I don’t know why and I don’t know how (to paraphrase Nick Cave), but I’ve suddenly become enamoured of the Skitarii. The models look cool, they have a post-human, cyberpunk theme married to the usual grimdarkery, and they look to me as though they even have my preferred playstyle: mid-range savagery a la the Sisters of Battle. Unfortunately in the last year my family has been hit with several huge medical, dental and car-related expenses, leaving me flat broke. And flat broke is the worst state to be in when you get the 40k itch, right?

So I think I’m going to put my Tau up for sale on the local facebook groups. They’re a small, nicely painted allied detachment that are mercenary themed so they can plug into almost anyone’s army. Hopefully I can get enough for them to fund the Skitarii, who will also only ever be a small army that I can plug into my Guard. And maybe if and when I get sick of the Skitarii I’ll sell them to fund the next lot, as I did with my Sisters and my Eldar.

I’m still wary of 40k. The whole thing could go Age of Sigmar mental at any time, and it’s already confusing as all hell. But that’s life I guess, you take your dice and roll ’em.

Oh and I also painted my medusa emplacements for my 30k militia, the Uruq Immortals. That’s them at the top there.

6 thoughts on “Big guns never tire

  1. Von says:

    “And maybe if and when I get sick of the Skitarii I’ll sell them to fund the next lot, as I did with my Sisters and my Eldar.”

    It’s a dangerous path you walk here. Given my history I can’t advise you NOT to tread it, but… measure twice, cut once, y’know? Maybe you’re happy with photographs of things that Were, and maybe you’re not. Know yourself, is the point I’m trying to make.

    “And flat broke is the worst state to be in when you get the 40k itch, right?”

    That’s always when it strikes.

    • Von says:

      By the way, I like the gun emplacements. The graphics you’ve done on the barricades are… well, if you have a signature Thing that you do on models, that might be it.

      • beat ronin says:

        Hi Von I meant to reply last night but got sidetracked. Thank you – I enjoy freehanding designs and things on models, and I try to put it in whenever possible. I know I’ll never be the prizewinning painter who’s models are held up as perfect 10s on CMON (is that even a thing anymore? Or are they just a boardgame kickstarter company now?) I’m just happy to get my models looking good to me, and interesting to others.

        I think I’ll be OK with regard to the models. I have a few I’ve sold over the years and I’m happy with just photos 🙂 It helps for me to think of the armies as artworks that are sold as a complete piece. Having that fake professional attitude gives that bit of disconnect. I do faintly regret selling my Battle Sisters from time to time, it’s true. But really, I play so rarely “what-ifs” are just not worth it.

  2. The Warlock says:

    I do love those barricades, they look both shoddy as hell but incredibly sturdy at the same time, can’t wait to see more,Jimmy! Even though +++Redacted by the Inquisition+++ has fallen, the guard will always have a place in 40k (probably in the thick of it, but s***t won’t get done otherwise).

    As for Skitarii, I think your style of painting would suit them to a T. If you take the plunge, you gotta show pics. GW’s page shows them too clean, as if they walked out of a factory. Ok, so they probably -did- but no in the middle of a scrap (pun intended).

    While you’re here, could I ask for your opinion on Elven colours- green, yellow, paste purple or typical blue?

    • The Warlock says:

      As for AoS, it’s fleshing out nicely, there’s actual maps now and I took the plunge (at ludicrous speed, sorry it’s gonna be a running [oh dear] gag) so it can’t be all that bad

      • beat ronin says:

        Hey Pete, thanks! It’s funny, these are some of the first models I’ve done since I started oil painting heaps, and I could feel when I was painting them that my model painting style had changed. Even my colour choices changed, looking at that tan barrier with the red slogan on it, it’s extremely Blanchian!

        I’m super keen for the Skitarii. They’ll have tan/desert coats and metal bodies, should look awesome next to my grey Guard on the table.

        Yeah I should qualify, when I said “Age of Sigmar mental” I didn’t mean that as a criticism of AoS. Just that it was a complete explosion of everything people knew about WHFB. It would be a pain to have to re-configure my Guard when I’ve successfully proofed them against three edition changes while maintaining their basic structure and playstyle. That was actually no easy feat.

Leave a Reply

