Merc Tau fire warriors

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted here. Between writing at the House of Paincakes network and working hard for the money, I haven’t had much inclination to post.

Here are the mercenary fire warriors I knocked out for the 40k event I played in a little while back. I got a pack of female uh… “not-Tau” heads from Zealot miniatures, because I figure half the fire caste warriors would be female. If you have a whole sub-race who are physically evolved as warriors, I reckon the fire caste men and women (which Tau seem to have, e.g. Shadowsun) would be pretty much the same in size and muscle mass. I just used heads because boobs armour (also available) is stupid. You heard it here first.

merc Tau front

There’s another problem too: it’s the middle of winter here in Canberra and we’ve been having mornings as low as -6 degrees. I can only do hobby stuff in the daytime, seeing as I’m getting on a bit and me old eyes are starting to go, and I’m finding that cold fingers in the morning are really slowing me down. I have a bunch of SAGA models to assemble and base, and it’s just too hard to find the time and the daylight and the warmth all together. Oh and our new kitten keeps attacking me when I’m trying to model. So all in all, I’m having a few difficulties. Advice much appreciated. New cyber-eyes perhaps? Anti-cat spray?

The Zealot miniatures female heads, and the Shas. I really need to do something about my eyesight. Either the cameras are lying to me, or my ability to paint detail is deteriorating rapidly.

The Zealot miniatures female heads, and the Shas. I really need to do something about my eyesight. Either the cameras are lying to me, or my ability to paint detail is deteriorating rapidly.

Top-down view of the squad, so you can see their redback spider-inspired uniforms.

Top-down view of the squad, so you can see their redback spider-inspired uniforms.

3 thoughts on “Merc Tau fire warriors

  1. Von says:

    Yer eyes are going a bit. Also, red details on black are not easy. Do you remember all the bitching I did about my Dawnguard?

    • beat ronin says:

      Yeah, the funny thing is that I couldn’t actually feel my eyesight getting worse, so for the last couple of years I’ve been bitterly blaming cameras not photographing my models properly. I feel a bit foolish.

      The models look the same to my naked eyes as they always have. But looking back over my old blog (and even the early days of this one) I can see a definite difference. I’m going to put together a post tracking my photographed minis over the last five years to show what I mean. I think it’s interesting at least. There was a sweet spot in about 2012-13 when they looked impressionistic but tight. Now they’re just sloppy-looking.

      I’m excited to get myself some specs and hopefully get back in the game 🙂

      • Von says:

        You’ll be a Speccled Jim?

        (No? Nobody?)

        I look forward to that post. Evolution-of-painting-style ones are always fun. I could probably just about do it: a lot of the miniatures have moved on but I have kept obsessive photographs over the years. Might be a fun one to do over the summer since this year marks 20 in the game…

Leave a Reply

