Warhammer 40,000 Forbidden Stars review in the Swedish Guardian

One of my friends on facebook just linked to this, an extensive review of Warhammer 40,000: Forbidden Stars. I guess it shows how “relaxed” I have become about keeping up with Warhammer 40k that I had no idea this was coming out.

Interesting I think for two reasons: the Guardian (which is a pretty big newspaper) is running a long review of a sci-fi board game, a GW IP no less; and it looks like just the sort of thing that might save GW from their current problem. Which to me can basically be summed up as “no-one wants to buy into that mess, so the only people playing are those already invested.”

This looks like one of those big complicated 1990s-style token-and-card strategy games like Shogun and Axis and Allies. I used to love them. A large-scale gateway game is what many of us in the blogosphere think is lacking from miniature wargaming these days.

We’ll see,

James

3 thoughts on “Warhammer 40,000 Forbidden Stars review in the Swedish Guardian

  1. Von says:

    So you’re saying that you think GW’s future is likely to be secured by a product that belongs in a twenty-year-old design paradigm? *cynical eyebrow lift*

    I honestly had no idea that Forbidden Stars was even a thing. Total cellar dweller here. That the Guardian has picked up on it and is actually giving attention to a new product from the GW stable is a good sign; the British press has generally relegated GW games to the silly season, something to rattle out tired old jibes and platitudes around when the news is flowing slowly.

    • beat ronin says:

      I… wish I wasn’t saying that now 😀 Should have thought about it a bit more! It’s funny though, right after I wrote this I was making breakfast and I suddenly thought who the hell do bloggers think they are anyway? Maybe I’m just a guy who’s way too confident in his own opinion. So it’s funny you said that.

      And I didn’t know about it either. The bits look nice. Maybe the whole GW thing is in danger of becoming cool in the Scandinavian countries? I was reading the blog Iron Sleet the other day and the guy described GW as having a “Scandinavian aesthetic.” Which I guess means METAL!

      • Thuloid says:

        It’s a Fantasy Flight game. They pay GW a license fee, that’s all. Saying it’s a GW game is like calling Star Wars: X-Wing a Lucasfilm (I guess that’d be Disney) product.

        And yeah, it’s probably good, because FFG makes a lot of good games. But it won’t save GW. FFG has been making Warhammer and 40k IP-based games for a while now.

Leave a Reply

