Walking dead for SAGA?

11130184_867026970009655_674888064492861761_nI saw the above image and some associated teasers for Salute (in the UK) on the blog Wargame News and Terrain. It’s from Gripping Beast, the creators of SAGA.

This is really interesting to me, firstly because it relates to my most recent post about cross-pollination of models and themes in games; secondly, just because I have a keen interest in the boundaries between history and mythology, and what people in the past believed in. Despite being a lifelong D&D player, I much prefer mythology and history to high fantasy, and especially enjoy when the two collide. Think The Thirteenth Warrior or even Hound of the Baskervilles. So a mash-up between historical warriors and the creatures of their folklore sounds like a dream game to me.

Norse, Germanic and Celtic peoples all had folk tales of walking corpses, and it looks like that might be what we’re dealing with here. I’ve heard one or two people suggest that SAGA is ripe for expansion into fantasy territory, and if that’s what’s happening I’m really glad they’ve decided to go in the direction of integrating mythology into their historical setting rather than creating a separate world full of generic Dwarves, Orcs and Elves. At least for now.

Of course it could just be some mini-event for Salute, a one-off fun presentation with limited edition models. And that would be cool too.

Have a good one,

James

8 thoughts on “Walking dead for SAGA?

  1. The Warlock says:

    Trapdoor spidermen? Laser-eye gollums? IT support, with their eyes reflecting the Blue Screen of Doom?

    O.o

  2. Von says:

    All I know is I want a big ol’ bag of ’em.

  3. SinSynn says:

    ‘And that would be cool too.’
    Lol!
    See, if this were me, I’d be all ‘ermahgerz zombies I’m so psyched.’
    But yer way too cool for that, I know.
    πŸ˜‰
    However, let it be said that I don’t believe for a second that you won’t be disappoint if this turns out to be some kinda ‘just for an event only’ kinda deal.
    πŸ™‚

    • beat ronin says:

      OK maybe a little bit πŸ˜‰

      And hey, I’m Australian, we are contractually obliged not to show any strong emotions. You’re from da Bronx, so you’re sort of required to be hot-tempered and loud, right?

Leave a Reply

