SAGA Irish warlord

IrishfrontHere is the finished Irish warlord. I think I’ll call him… king Dairmuid MacColl. Seen here with his advisor/wife/sorceress, Brigit.

I read that tartan was very simple before the 17th century.  "Like a tea towel" was how I saw it described. So I tried to capture that on Brigit's woollen cloak.

I read that tartan was very simple before the 17th century. “Like a tea towel” was how I saw it described. So I tried to capture that on Brigit’s woollen cloak.

I planned to paint these models very simply, as I did with my vikings, but I developed an ulcer on my eye that made it hard to concentrate and I messed them up. I then had to go back and do a lot of repair work on the paint job, so they ended up taking ages and being a bit more complex than I wanted. But I kept trying to minimise the work, so now they’re kind of in a middle ground for me: not as much effort as I would normally put into a centrepiece model’s painting, but more effort than I put into the vikings.

Still, I’m happy with them. I’ve been trying to find out what the ancient Irish law code says about colours.  I heard that there were strict social castes in pre-modern Ireland and that only certain groups could legally wear certain colours.  But the research is going slowly.  I got impatient and went ahead with the painting. All I know for certain is that warriors were allowed to wear saffron, so I’m hoping King Dairmuid isn’t wearing a nice shade of pigherder blue…

Till next time,

James

3 thoughts on “SAGA Irish warlord

  1. The Warlock says:

    Heya James, that warlord looks ace! Loving the saffron/blue contrast 😀

Leave a Reply

