SAGA: Irish Warlord ready for painting

Irishwarlord I had this post scheduled for next week, but since it’s Saint Patrick’s Day, I thought it would bring good fortune to whack it up today. Here you can see my newly-built (and so far un-named) Irish Warlord for the dark ages skirmish game SAGA, undercoated and ready for painting.

The spear-lass behind him is “Boudi” from Hasslefree Miniatures. I did some research and discovered that Irish women habitually fought beside men, until Christianity put a stop to it. Maybe an early example of Christian sexism; maybe early just-war thinking to protect women and children from war.  Maybe both.

My bog-dwelling Irish warband are not pagans, but they’re not far off, so I’m imagining she’s a bit of a throwback, and must be related to the warlord if she can get away with carrying a spear.

Okay so the crop-top may be a tad anachronistic. But I’m being selective with my accuracy here because it’s such a great model. The stone the old fella is standing on is Das air-drying clay. I made a greenstuff mould of an old Celtic knotwork pendant I had as a grungy teenager (still had it in a shoebox, *sniff*), and then pressed the clay into it. His javelins are from North Star.

Like if you like them. Questions and comments are also welcome.

James

3 thoughts on “SAGA: Irish Warlord ready for painting

  1. no one cares says:

    FINE I’LL CLICK YER STOOPID ‘LIKE’ BUTTON.
    -_-

    *ahem*

    ah. a comment box. that’s better.
    we’ll compromise, then.
    😛

    OH MY GODD I GOTTA FIX MY WORDPRESS ACCOUNT.
    grumble grumble grumble…

Leave a Reply

