Changing format

Hi friends,

There’s still another month until I’ll have full internet access from home. It’s not ideal. There are some good points though. I’ve done more gaming than usual since the blog’s slowed down. And I’ve been thinking more about my hobby in terms of what I want to make, rather than what I would be pleased to bring to the community.

Also, I’ve been thinking about changing the format of this blog for a while, and now I’m going to do it.

These days I find I’m less interested in long thoughtful discussions, and more interested in recording my work for my own future reference, and appreciating the miniatures and art of others. If I feel like a conversation, I’d do better to call a friend and have a game – or go to a wider online forum like the House of Paincakes – than to host one here at my little place. Besides anything else, posting discussion-starters here puts pressure on me to reply to everyone, which is something I just can’t do right now.

Related to this, I’ve come round to the idea that many (maybe most…) online media doesn’t actually need comments, and people just have them enabled out of habit. I think this is especially true for big things like YouTube, and mainstream media.  In fact I almost think that the larger the audience, the less valuable the comments will be as a whole. So what I’m going to do is disable the comments on my posts, unless they are posts I’ve specifically written for discussion.

Please don’t get me wrong.  I am incredibly grateful for all of my readers and friends here who take the time to drop by and say “nice job” when I post a pic of a model or some scenery.  I just feel that I don’t actually need that validation, if you know what I mean? I make stuff for myself, and I like sharing it with the community because a lot of my inspiration comes from all over the place. And the idea that someone might get some inspiration from me makes me happy. But that’s all I really want from it. I’ve been blogging for about ten years now, starting with Live Journal at the turn of the millenium, and in that time I’ve slowly been shaving back on wordiness and trying to make my writing more spartan and useful. This is a continuation of that trend.

So here’s how it’s going to work: I’ll post work (art, models, scenery, even music or whatever) by myself and others.  I’ll credit the creators, myself or otherwise.  And that’s it.  Comments will be disabled on these posts. If you like something, please go ahead and click the “like” button.  Everything has ‘em these days, even WordPress. And I feed on sweet delicious Likes, just like everyone else.

If I really have something to say, rest assured I’ll say it! And I’ll blow it up for discussion as I always have. But I’d like to shift the bulk of my discussion from in here to out there, in the community.

Oh, and I’m rescinding my oft-broken “no more than 500 words” rule. I don’t want to feel restricted when I do choose to write.

I’m leaving the comments open on this one, because I’m excited but I’m also curious what people think.  Get ready for probably more posts, more visuals, and a lot less words. I see the Beat Ronin in the future as a place people can quickly check out, say “hey, that’s cool” and perhaps share, and then move along to the next thing.

See you soon,

James

9 thoughts on “Changing format

  1. no one cares says:

    Lol at that 500 word rule. You dunno how many times I laughed about that one.
    😀
    Well I’ll certainly support any format changes you’d like to make if it means we get more posts…
    That IS the deal, right?
    🙂

    • beat ronin says:

      😀 Yeah, that’s the deal. More posts, less chitty-chat!

      The 500 word rule was… mostly effective. But sometimes you just have too much to say, right? And it’s so satisfying to work on something and make it exactly how it needs to be, with the right number of words, whether that’s 500 or 5000.

  2. Dragons Claw says:

    Good to see ya James I’m behind the whole concept as long as we get some discussion from time to time I do loves me a good chat

    • beat ronin says:

      Good to see you too Joe 🙂 And don’t worry, there’ll be discussion when there’s something good to talk about. I learn so much and it’s just a lot of fun chatting about interesting things wit all of you. Think of the new format as saving you feeling like you have to write something when a simple Like will do.

  3. Porky says:

    I find it hard to argue against this, and I feel a similar way about shifting the discussion out. The approach you’re going with is a pretty good one as well, keeping the option of being a venue for the discussion. Even posting interesting things without a fully open channel, you’ll still be prompting thought and encouraging responses.

    • beat ronin says:

      That’s what I think too. Sometimes it’s nice to see something and go away and think about it, rather than instantly responding and then have it fly from your mind.

  4. The Warlock says:

    Hey James, the proposed format has a thumbs up from me 🙂 I look forward to seeing everything as it’s always thought provoking to drop by here. Do what thou wilt if it maketh thee joyous! /faux old english

  5. Von says:

    Get thee to a Tumblr, varlet. It’s called WORD Press for a reason. :p

    In all seriousness: I suppose it comes down to what you hope to achieve by all this. If you want The Beat Ronin to serve as inspiration for others and documentation/archive for yourself then I agree, you don’t need commentary, although I do wonder what is gained by turning it off. Regardless, I respect you relieving me of the obligation to say something about -everything- you come up with, and we do have the sweet, delicious Like button.

    I couldn’t achieve what I want to achieve at GAME OVER without the comment function; I think aloud and you help me me complete my thoughts and achieve direction toward resolution. That’s how it works. Even the hobby showcase posts are, I hope, there to say something about painting technique, desired outcomes and collectorism. If I just wanted to show people things I’ve painted I’d remember to post on Twitter every #miniaturemonday.

    500 words is pifflespeak, too. 1500+ or go home, and pictures are for the hard of reading. :p

    • beat ronin says:

      Ha ha! You make some excellent points my friend. I’ve been having second thoughts about turning comments off anyway. Maybe just on the picture ones?

      I did think of Tumblr. I actually contacted the almighty David Stillberg (he changed his blog to a Tumblr a while back) to see what he thought. He told me I should stick with WordPress because Tumblr is shit for archiving and searching and he regrets moving over. So that’s that.

      Honestly, a big part of it is that I don’t feel able to reply as consistently as I’d like to and I think it’s nicer for people to just look and not have to reply than to say something nice and have me ignore it. I think. Let’s see how it goes anyway.

Leave a Reply

