Dragon Age: Inquisition is a great game

Hi everyone. If any of you are still out there.

I still don’t have internet at home. The ISP’s technician who came yesterday said that the phone jack was faulty, and then pointed out that the line from the pole to our house has been shredded by… something. Apparently the previous technician from the actual phone company didn’t notice either of these things, and now he has to come back on Monday.

But it’s been too long. I have a blog dammit, I have responsibilities! So I’m going to type this up, email it to myself and then quickly post it using cut and paste with the WordPress app on my phone. Fingers crossed.

Anyway I’ve actually been doing a lot of gaming in the last month or two. Maybe that’s related to not having internet hey? No, couldn’t possibly be connnected…

I’ve played a game of D&D before our group went on a break for the holidays. I still have my review of 5th edition in the works; as soon as I get internet I’ll be hammering out the posts faster than people can read them probably. I also played a game of Warhammer 40,000. The Kings were wiped out to a man but there were some highlights. Lt. Col. Winter brought down some sort of Space Marine bomber thing (I’m just going to call it a “storm-whatsit” and hope for the best here) with a psychically hurled boulder. And my three pathetic ratlings killed four tactical marines. That was extremely satisfying, and bewildering for my opponent.

What I’ve mostly been playing though is Dragon Age: Inquisition. Dragon Age Origins is one of my favourite games ever. Dragon Age II I didn’t like so much. Whenever something happens in Inquisition that references DA II, I think “hey, I don’t remember that. Wait, I don’t even remember any of my companions. Oh except for creepy terrorist Anders, Buxom Pirate Queen and Nu-Metal Elf with Huge Anime Sword.”

The main reason I didn’t like it was that the Dragon Age setting – which is pretty amazing – is often described as dark fantasy. In Dragon Age II they decided that this meant saddling the player with heavy decisions that had no possible good outcome. Like in Origins when you had to choose between killing the Arl’s undiscovered mage son, or letting him live and get possessed with tragic results. That was horrible, and powerful because of it. But in DA II, it felt like every decision was like that. You could never negotiate effectively; every important encounter inescapably ended with having to kill someone who didn’t completely deserve it. It left a bad taste in my mouth.

Inquisition is back on form though, and funnily enough I really feel the dark fantasy setting even more than I did in Origins. I don’t know how the writers have done it, but I keep feeling sad for the poor Dragon Age people. They are little medieval folk living in a world where unnatural spirits keep trying to break through and possess them, and any sort of long term safety is unlikely. War and chaos have descended ever since Origins, and there’s a real sense of continuation here. And the people don’t even know how screwed they are, because they don’t know any different. They’re just fighting against the encroaching madness because what else can you do? It reminds me of Lovecraft, or early Warhammer Fantasy Battle, one of the original dark fantasy settings. I love it. It really gives you space to feel as though you are playing a true mortal hero: a temporary candle in the storm.

Anyway this is my Inquisitor, Saoirse:

Yes, I did just photograph my screen with my phone.  Thanks for noticing.

Yes, I did just photograph my screen with my phone. Thanks for noticing.

The other thing I’m really enjoying about this game is the War Room. You get to direct strategy and diplomacy in the big picture as well as play out the actual plot and fight the battles on the smaller, more familiar C-RPG scale. One of these days I’m going to sit down and write exactly what I would want in my dream C-RPG. This game seems to have most of it already. Except for the ability to change your character’s appearance mid-game. That’s one thing that Dragon Age II had to recommend it.

Till next time (which hopefully won’t be too long),

James

6 thoughts on “Dragon Age: Inquisition is a great game

  1. Dragons Claw says:

    Hey James good to see you back not really an RPG player my attention span is just too short 😉

    I don’t know if you’ve seen but I got into the blogging game myself and I stuck you on my blogroll

    https://adragonseerie.wordpress.com/

  2. Von says:

    Jaaaaaaaaaaames! ‘ello, mate.

    Storm-whatsit is generally a good call. I get lost in amongst all the Ravens and Talons and Fires and whatnot and generally just think of them as “annoying little one”, “Dreadnought flinging one” and “weird Dark Angels one with wings on”.

    Dragon Age (I can’t see it and not think ‘Dragonage’) seems like it took a detour into GRIMDARK-land (a stupid place) for a minute there, but you’re not the first person to say that the new one is all right. You seem to be invested at least, which is a plus.

    (Also, that war room sounds like WoW’s Garrisons. Must be the fashion this year.)

    • beat ronin says:

      Hey Von, nice to see you. Hmmm, it was the dreadnought flinging one. And I did also kill an annoying little one 🙂

      I actually can’t believe how big and immersive DA:I is without crossing over into sandbox land, which is a place I don’t mind visiting but that ultimately can’t hold my attention.

  3. sinsynn says:

    I’m fighting the urge to buy this, cuz I LOVED Origins (I skipped part 2. Saw that one comin’ Lol).
    There’s no shooter games I wanna play right now, but I’m thinkin’ it might be time fer me to check out the revamped Diablo III with the fancy expansion pack that apparently made it ‘good.’
    Ah, decisions decisions.

    Nice to see ya out here, buddy.
    🙂

    • beat ronin says:

      Hey Sinsynn, yeah I’ve never been a big Diablo guy. I don’t mind it – it’s not bad or anything – but I never got really into it. It’s hard to compare them though because DA is all about the epic immersive story and Diablo always seemed to me to be Gauntlet for loners 😀

      I do know a couple of people who think the combat in DA:I is not so great. Apparently the companions’ AI doesn’t follow orders well, but I haven’t noticed.

Leave a Reply

