SAGA: Viking warlord and hearthguard

2014-10-10 10.49.08

I haven’t forgotten about SAGA.  Here are my first finished models: the Viking warlord Ragnar the Unlucky, and four of his hearthguard.

2014-10-10 10.48.51

I wanted to try something different in my approach to these guys, so I decided to go with all simple, old-fashioned techniques and not get bogged down in details. The other thing I wanted to do with my SAGA models was something I’ve never done before: no metallic paints at all.  I thought if all the colours on the models were flat it would make them more unified and down-to-earth.

Firstly I sprayed them with Army Painter bone undercoat (which, may I say, is a bit glossy.  But it turned out OK, I guess). Then I washed all the cloth and hair colours in, blocked in the shields with solid colours, then washed the whole lot with brown ink.  Lastly I did the metals.

The metal was the most complex bit, but I went for a very simple non-metallic metal effect. I tried to give the vague impression of metal with a few strokes of light grey and then white over a dark grey base. Finally I washed the metals (after the models were sealed) with black and brown oil paint – a trick I learned from one of those big-ass Forgeworld Masterclass books. It was really easy – mainly because I didn’t stress about accuracy.

The bases were done with Gale Force 9 Marsh Blend.  They’ll be fighting my Irish warband (next up on the table after my Infinity Asura), and since the Irish are the ones being raided, their environment determines the base.  Soooo… peat bog it is!

Ragnar has part of a runic spell I copied from Wikipedia on his shield.  He’s called Ragnar the Unlucky because he and his crew accidentally landed in an Irish bog next to some mean but dirt-poor tribesmen, instead of near a nice fat church.

Ragnar has part of a runic spell I copied from Wikipedia on his shield.  He’s called Ragnar the Unlucky because he and his crew accidentally landed in an Irish bog next to some mean but dirt-poor tribesmen, instead of near a nice fat church.

I like the grim guy all in black.  I shall call him Snorri.

I like the grim guy all in black.  I shall call him Snorri the Happy.

I’m really pleased with these boys.  They look hard as coffin nails, and not sweating the details made them fun to paint.  I don’t know how long it’s been since I’ve painted chainmail. Not since Warhammer Fantasy Battle in the early 90s probably.  Too long!

6 thoughts on “SAGA: Viking warlord and hearthguard

  1. Dragons_Claw says:

    Looking good mate well impressed with freehand shield runic spell looks fidly as fuck. Got the painting fear at the moment got all my ice storm infinity figs to do but I haven’t picked up a brush in like 2 years and in scared in a weird way.

    You played any games of Saga if so what’s it like?

    • beat ronin says:

      Thanks! Nah, I haven’t played yet. I thought I’d paint the warlords and hearthguard first, undercoat the rest, and then get my brother over for a game. These guys only took a few hours (spread over several days), so the Irish should be ready soon as well.

      I can understand the painting fear, especially Infinity models. I swear, I get an idea of what I’m going to do, and then when I sit down to paint them I discover there’s twice as much detail as I remember.

      • Dragons_Claw says:

        Yeah the detail is a bit intimidating have you seen the female fusalier model I swear her legs are thinner than my paint brush.

        Also in having some difficulties deciding on a paint scheme for the pan o models if I go for the house blue scheme in always gonna compare mine to the angel giraldez paint job and that’s not a comparison in gonna come out well from. I kinda like the idea of doing them dark green with blue berets sorta like a un peace keeping force. My Aleph in going silvery grey fir the armour and purple grey for the cloth but I want to get some practice in as in planning Aleph as my main faction

        • beat ronin says:

          Hey I like the sound of the UN scheme. You know what I rarely see with Infinity models? People actually painting them to look like anime, with bold cartoony colours and really simple shading. I’d like to try that one day.

  2. sinsynn says:

    These seem like well balanced models to paint. The shields offer you a chance to do some freehand, or you can just go basic.
    I find some Infinity figures infuriating to paint. Sometimes I really think they’re overly detailed for no good reason.

    • beat ronin says:

      I’m finding historical models interesting. Except for the Perry twins, who are absolute maestros, they tend to have that handmade look similar old GW stuff. I look at them and think they look charmingly disproportionate, but they’re easy to paint and they actually look really good in real life with the use of just a few simple methods. I like them.

      And yeah I think the same thing about Infinity models. It’s almost the opposite, they’re perfect in their disproportion and reward complex painting. Everything is covered in tiny hexagons 😀 I usually just paint them all one or two colours – they’re combat uniforms after all. The amazing stuff you see online though… people paint all the panels different colours, it’s crazy.

Leave a Reply

