Even more cyberpunk terrain: billboard + big building

Work continues on the terrain for my Infinity table.  I’m really enjoying it. Terrain is not something I’ve ever really turned my hand to before – I’ve always let other people take care of it.  I’m planning a table that’s partly MDF kits from the excellent BP Laser in Brisbane, and partly scavenged “termite” terrain as befits my roots in old school DIY wargaming.  I think they’ll combine well for a nice scummy-looking cyberpunk scene.

Last time I mentioned I needed to complete a billboard for the noodle shop, and I was going to use some of Aki Akane’s art.  I changed my mind about the specific piece I was going to use.  It was slightly too trippy. So I went for this one instead:07_141719141

And this is how it turned out. I’m really happy with it:

Apologies to Aki Akane.  Image used without permission.

Apologies to Aki Akane. Image modified without permission.

The revolutionary graffiti on the billboard above is specific to the Infinity setting. It says “Kempei,” with the English phrase “stand up.”  Years and years (and years) ago, I studied Mandarin Chinese at university before I realised philosophy was more my thing.  I may have mentioned this before. I don’t recall much spoken language, and I can’t read the characters, but strangely enough I can write them.  It’s amazing; a year of writing hundreds of the buggers repetitively has given me a muscle memory for making the strokes.

So I looked up the characters and I was a bit nervous, but I just took a deep breath and then copied them out before I could think. And it worked! $5000 in university course fees well-spent I say.

Here is my last BP Laser building.  It’s just an indeterminate large building, again with revolutionary graffiti on the roof.  I’m getting cocky now it seems:

bigbuilding

 

phonebooth

And here is a BP Laser phone booth.  Keisotsu Yoshi is waiting for a call…

From here on in it’s deoderant cans and found objects, all the way.

Till next time,

James

14 thoughts on “Even more cyberpunk terrain: billboard + big building

  1. kaptainvon says:

    I like this ‘living city’ stuff you’re doing. One of my mates is into Dropzone Commander and doing something similar (though less detailed) in that scale; making his board look like somewhere where people might at some stage have lived rather than a collection of large modular objects placed for game effect. I think I like your ‘beautify the large modular objects’ a little more than his love of clutter terrain (nice for dioramas, a touch frustrating for actual play) – and the graffiti’d billboard is a nice step further than I think some folks would go. Good stuff.

    • beat ronin says:

      Thanks Von. I have some scatter terrain too but I can’t imagine it making the game any easier to play. I’d much rather go with some level of abstraction and, as you said, detail the big stuff to make an impression.

      Oh and it’s odd, but your comments keep being held for moderation for some reason.

  2. Dragons_Claw says:

    So your shooting for some kind of most profligate blogger award 😉 ?

    Love the poster your terrains getting a real blade runner feel.

    • Dragons_Claw says:

      Proliferate not profligate Damn auto correct and many curses on no edit function

    • beat ronin says:

      Ha ha yeah, well I have some time on my hands at the moment and I just sort of stopped worrying and started making stuff again. I was burned out for quite a while, but now it seems I’m back a vengeance 😀

      Oh and cheers. Blade Runner is of course a big influence, David Snyder’s art design was freaking fantastic. Every time I see it I’m blown away that it was made in the 1980s.

      • Dragons_Claw says:

        Yeah I’ve been burnt out on hobby for a while but I’ve out 3 models together so far this morning in fact I’ve been hobbying when I should of been sleeping 🙂 gonna take my tool box and some figs to work with me tonight.

        And oh man are infinity figs fiddly

  3. Dragons_Claw says:

    Sorry to triplepost but my copy of Operation Ice Storm just arrived and despite ordering after the cut of date I got the limited edition fig too anyone looking for cheap infinity I would heartily recommend the outpost in Sheffield very cheap very good service

    http://the-outpost.co.uk/our-products/games/infinity/

  4. greggles says:

    Great progress. Love the effect of the graffiti on the billboard you made. Looks like it was taken right out of a functional city.

    • beat ronin says:

      Thanks greggles, it was pretty easy to get the effect. I glued the paper onto the board with PVA, then quickly wrote the graffiti with a red marker that was on the way out, then sprayed it all with my terrain spray bottle (a $2 water sprayer filled with water and a couple of drops of black and brown ink). Then while it was still wet I smushed the paper from one corner so it looked torn.

      • greggles says:

        That is a brilliant idea with the terrain spray. Is that how you basically apply a wash to everything?

        • beat ronin says:

          Yep, exactly. It takes about 20 seconds to do a big building. When the wash dries it leaves some droplet marks that some people might not like but I think it adds to the effect. They could probably be cleaned away so the wash was only in the recesses if you wanted.

  5. sinsynn says:

    That artwork is giving me a ‘wait- wut?’ Kinda vibe.
    Lemme see if I got this right- that chick is blowing her brains out, but in classic ‘anime dream sequence’ style, instead of brains being blasted out the side if her head, we get cherry blossoms?
    Now I wanna see the pic that was too trippy to make the cut…

    • beat ronin says:

      Yep, I’m pretty sure that’s what’s going on..?

      The image I decided against was this one:null

      I really dig her colours and lines; it looks sort of like a 3D image does when you aren’t wearing the glasses. But I wanted something slightly more gritty and less contemporary, if you know what I mean? 80s-90s cyberpunk rather than 2014 psychedelic art.

Leave a Reply

