Asuka Kisaragi (the insanity of 28mm cleavage tattoos II: the completening)

Here is my completed Asuka Kisaragi for Infinity, with yakuza tattoos and all.

asuka1

I wanted the bike to look like military hardware, not a racing bike. She has stuck some cheesy cherry blossom decals on it though and painted the rims pink.  Also, she is wearing too much make-up because that’s just the kind of girl she is.

 

asuka2

I messed about with several different designs for the patch on her jacket. When in doubt, go with an Akira reference I always say.

I’m really happy with how she turned out.  I’m less happy with how she looks in the photos.

I’m always hesitant to put up photos, because a) I don’t enjoy taking them, b) it’s a hassle to get them from the camera to the computer, and c) I’m never happy with how my stuff looks in photos.

Photos are like looking at the model through a magnifying glass.  With the resolution of modern cameras, there is just so much information that when you zoom in (or even when you don’t) it’s like looking at the model from far closer than you comfortably could in real life.  So I know this sounds like whining, but I simply don’t have the skills to take photos that do my painting style justice.  I paint too impressionistically.  These ones were taken with a good camera (Canon EOS 6D) and a standard lens.  A macro lens (which we had on our old camera) is even worse.  At this point I’m assuming that all of the people who’s work looks great in photos paint in that perfectly smooth airbrush style that doesn’t show any brush strokes or, indeed, paint texture.

For example, here is Asuka’s face at the actual size the camera took the photo:

Asuka face

This is actually what it looks like in real life… if you have a magnifying glass.

The main pictures above are as close as I could get to how it looks to the naked eye.  Any photography tips would be welcome; it actually bums me out quite a bit.

4 thoughts on “Asuka Kisaragi (the insanity of 28mm cleavage tattoos II: the completening)

  1. kaptainvon says:

    She does look daaaaang nice from the ‘usual’ distance though! I think all this hyper-detailed-for-macro-photography business is – while commendable in terms of skill – somewhat ill-considered in terms of medium. It’s had an unfortunate effect on what’s considered ‘table top quality’ as well – created a kind of detail/realism/fuss inflation. Not a good thing when one’s giving less and less of a damn about meticulous painting…

    • beat ronin says:

      Thank you Von, I worked very hard on her 🙂

      I agree with you of course, like everything in life these days miniature painting has been hugely affected by the internet. How a model appears online is important – perhaps more important than how it looks in real life if you’re a professional (a real professional, not er… someone like me). The sort of style that looks smooth in a close-up photo has to a great extent become what people regard as good paintwork. It’s a bit frustrating. All art has an optimal viewing distance and I just don’t have the chops (or, it has to be said, the drive) to paint something that looks as awesome to a microscope as it does to a person leaning over a table. Some people can I guess, or at least I assume so. I’ve never seen a perfect airbrushed model in real life so I couldn’t tell you.

      At a natural human distance I like to think I’m a pretty good painter. Does it really matter that it doesn’t translate to a photo? Was Monet crap because his paintings lose their integrity the closer you stand to them? I dunno :/

  2. sinsynn says:

    You know why I love you, James?
    Anyone else woulda just painted a shirt on her.
    But not you.
    🙂

    • beat ronin says:

      Thanks Sinsynn 🙂 When I sit down to paint a model I get all caught up imagining them as an interesting character and I put all sorts of little details on them to represent their personality. Asuka is basically a biker thug, so she’s going to be tough-looking and tacky right? Not a beautiful princess. So I tried to think how to show that with the model.

      I’m sure you get that, given what you’ve said about how you visualize battles in your head and get attached to your troops (by the way my bro Chris is exactly like you: he sees a movie in his head while he’s playing with toys).

Leave a Reply

