Completed commission: Ulthwe Farseer

Farseer

 

Well, I’m back after my short hiatus.  No amazing news on the job front but I have got my time re-organised to cope with the changes in my life at the moment.  I’m going to make an effort to show more work on this blog, starting with things I’ve promised but never delivered.  So here is the Ulthwe Farseer on jetbike I did a little while ago for someone.  He asked for a female Farseer wearing partial armour and partially robed, and a freehand painting on the canopy.

 

Farseerfreehand

I went with a picture of the goddess Isha, patron of Ulthwe, who if I remember rightly is the one who collected all the bits of Khaine after he was butchered.  Maybe her tears were magical or something?  I don’t really remember.  She has one eye covered because her eye is the symbol of Ulthwe.

9 thoughts on “Completed commission: Ulthwe Farseer

  1. The Warlock says:

    It’s both good and meh on the job front- good that you’ve reorganised stuff, but meh as there’s no job to be had. Hopefully something good comes your way soon 🙂

    Tears of Isha IIRC are soul stones that the Eldar use to not be Slaanesh’d. Loving that commission, makes me wanna try the Biel-tan…

    • beat ronin says:

      Thanks mate,I hope so too. I have some potential editing stuff on the way which is very exciting, but I don’t want to jinx it by saying too much at this stage 🙂

      And I’m glad you like the model, it was hard with all that black.

  2. sinsynn says:

    0_o
    Cool as F*ck!
    Also…always happy to see you post.
    🙂

  3. Bush Craft says:

    Funny, we have a similar style of painting that bucks the silky smooth trend that’s all the rage these days. Do you catch a lot of shit for it? My excuse is it’s ‘Blanche-ian’, and that reference is a great litmus test of the critic.

    http://themarienburggazette.blogspot.com/2012/03/artistic-inspiration-5-john-blanche.html?m=1

  4. beat ronin says:

    Hey Bush Craft, nice to see you mate.

    I have noticed that you and I have similar styles. And yeah, I’m glad Blanche is there as a respectable messy painter. But I have had some negative reactions for sure, especially online. People in real life are generally more respectful.

    Once I posted a picture of an Ork warboss I built from an SD gundam and painted in my style, and the very first comment was: “that warboss looks like a piece of shit.” This was in the dark days of forums before I started blogs, and it really hurt, actually.

    Those models at that link are really nice.

  5. Bush Craft says:

    Fuck ’em. When you weigh random internet venom vs. your getting paid comission work, you can’t take that stuff seriously.

    Blanche has a great Demons of Chaos army but I couldn’t find pics of it, sadly.

Leave a Reply

