Some Philosophy

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted, and I haven’t done any gaming besides D&D, which is still going well.

What I have been doing is reading a lot.  One of the things I’m reading right now is the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius: the mighty Roman emperor who was also a philosopher of the stoic school.  There’s a lot to admire in there.  This passage in particular made me think of the last post I made, and the problem I was having with wanting praise for my creations and measuring myself against others:

Beautiful things of any kind are beautiful in themselves and sufficient to themselves. Praise is extraneous. The object of praise remains what it was – no better and no worse. This applies, I think, even to “beautiful” things in ordinary life – physical objects, artworks. Does anything genuinely beautiful need supplementing? No more than justice does – or truth, or kindness, or humility. Are any of those improved by being praised? Or damaged by contempt? Is an emerald suddenly flawed if no one admires it? Or gold, or ivory, or purple? Lyres? Knives? Flowers? Bushes?

And speaking of beauty and stoic philosophy, here’s Lana Del Rey singing a song about mortality and seizing the moment:

Till next time,

James

2 thoughts on “Some Philosophy

  1. SinSynn says:

    I’m not so sure there’s anything wrong with wanting to show off a lil’ bit, or being proud of something you’ve created.
    Deliberately seeking praise or demanding some sorta acknowledgement for accomplishing the mundane is another matter.
    Do good. Work hard. Try.
    Praise will come, I suppose, but when did praise ever make anyone’s life easier?

    I hope Lana Del Rey plays somewhere near you soon. I’d love to see here at some smokey club, where I could sit with an adult beverage in my hand and just soak it in.
    That would be da awesome.

    • beat ronin says:

      Hey SinSynn! Yeah, I hope so too – hopefully she doesn’t get so famous that I have to go to Sydney or Melbourne to see her.

      And yeah, the stoics were pretty hardcore. Sort of like ancient Greek/Roman buddhists: they taught non-attachment and no ego in order to be peaceful and happy. I’m certainly not that good.

      But I do think I was, well, not deliberately seeking praise. But unconsciously seeking it, and getting uptight when I saw people who were better than me. I feel pretty at peace with it all now though.

Leave a Reply

