Should Have Had a Better Plan

I’ve been having real trouble lately finishing a miniature I started.  This doesn’t happen to me often – I actually can’t remember the last time I didn’t finish a model within a few days of starting it.  I think it might be because I jumped straight in without a clear picture in my head.

Normally I don’t start painting a model until I’ve been struck by inspiration as to how I want the finished work to look.  This time I just saw a really nicely worn paintjob on a merry-go-round when I was with my son at the park and I took a photo.  It looked beautiful and I wanted to incorporate something similar into a miniature:

merry go round

The unlucky model who was next on my list to start thinking about was a Nomad Sin-Eater Observant for the game Infinity.  The Observance are a rebel Catholic sect so I thought he should have Catholic ecclesiastical colours like purple and red, but I also wanted to make his armour look like the photo above.  Orange and purple are dramatic together right?

In theory maybe.  I can’t get it to look how I want though and for the first time ever I’m pretty sure I’m going to strip him back and start again with a better-thought-out concept.  He just looks like he has an ugly purple coat and badly painted brown armour.  Why would his armour be orange anyway?  He has mimetism I guess and he’s a religious soldier, but he’s still a soldier. If his suit malfunctions he’s not going to want to be wearing hi-vis colours.

I need a break though, I’m starting to blame the model and that’s a bit silly.  I’m going to abandon him for now, take a breather and then work on my Malifaux Ronin, who I want to do in a sort of dusty style for use in Skulldred.  If anyone has seen the Japanese movie Sukiyaki Western Django, I’m planning a warband of crazy wild west samurai and oni-giants.  Maybe with a display base in case I never actually use them in a game, which is a definite possibility!

Till next time,

James

2 thoughts on “Should Have Had a Better Plan

  1. SinSynn says:

    Wow.
    I’ve actually seen sukiyaki western django.
    Bad guys should always line up a buncha underlings to line up and walk in front of them like ablative shields, and/or strap chain guns to themselves.
    Raping chicks in front of their dead husbands is a tad harsh, though.
    Strange movie. Yes, I own it.
    Interesting joint to get inspired by, fer sure.

    • beat ronin says:

      Yeah that movie was pretty brutal. There was a little too much raping I think 😦

      What I’m going for is the weird wild west/samurai mash-up style, because Skulldred gives you such freedom to do whatever you want I tried to think of an aesthetic that is different but looks good.

      Hey have you seen Death Trance? That movie is pretty whacky. I had no idea why the stuff that was happening was happening, but I enjoyed the hell out of it.

Leave a Reply

