Finding New Ways

The first session of my new D&D campaign went really well.  In the past I’ve always set aside a whole afternoon and played into the night with beer and other refreshments on hand.  Everything was in-session: levelling up, buying equipment, everything.  The ability to do this has become a distant memory for me and my circle, so instead I took a firm hand and limited the game to two and a half hours.  Distribution of experience and skill-selection and other “downtime” activities now take place at home during the week for my partner, and in a weekly Skype meet for the other two players.

The session turned out to be perfectly timed, with the players getting through everything I had hoped they would in the time available.

My friend KyoheiZero acquitted himself very well, and seemed to grasp the principles of role-playing straight away.  And by principles I don’t mean the rules, I mean the unspoken social contracts and conceits that make the game wobbly if not everyone is committed to them.

I’m looking forward to continuing with this new style of play.  I’m pleased to be able to find new ways to play as my life grows and changes, instead of just letting my games become treasured memories and trappings of a former life stage, as so many friends have done.

All the best,

James

2 thoughts on “Finding New Ways

  1. Porky says:

    I could go a super-long session right now, for that engagement to the exclusion of all else. That’s something we unlearn quick as we get older.

    I’m glad it went well, and impressed you had the events covered so well. I tend to go into a session with the chaos just under control and release it, and where we end up is a mystery, like washing up after a storm. Maybe they’re lulling you in…

    That last comment, on new ways of playing, also makes me wonder how much scope there is for development, for where we go over time from now. But there’s massive scope of course, and one of the best things about it is knowing it might not be what we expect, maybe something we hadn’t even considered.

    • beat ronin says:

      I normally write a loose narrative and draw up a few quick locations, but if they don’t take the bait and do something else I just wing it. I think because there were so few players and one of them is totally new to RPGs they were careful to follow the hooks I left out. I suspect the new player thinks that’s what you’re “supposed” to do. I’m assuming that as we get more games together they will show more confidence in branching out. I was pretty surprised myself, I estimated it would take them two and a half hours if they did what I planned, and it did.

      I’m wondering if I’ll ever play a long session again, and if I do will it be the same? My little brother (heh, he’s thirty-two and I still call him that) plays in a game with one of his school-friends, about two or three times a year, and they play all night and drink like they’re still in high school. So I know it’s possible for grown ups. It just takes six-month’s planning each time for them all to be in the same town with a free weekend!

Leave a Reply

