A New Adventure

This wednesday I’m running the first adventure in a new Dungeons and Dragons campaign.  We’re playing 3.5 Edition, as that’s the one everyone’s most familiar with and I quite like it.  It’s a small game, with only three players so far, but they’re an eclectic bunch.  First up is my partner of many years, who is one of those players with a recurring character.  She runs a thief named Barron Jones whose identity is passed from master to apprentice, like the Dread Pirate Roberts in The Princess Bride.  I’m excited to see the newest incarnation in action.

Then there’s my friend KyoheiZero who has never played D&D before but devours video games and table-top wargames.  He’s having trouble envisioning how the game will play out, but he’ll see soon enough.

And finally my friend Chimpomagee, who is an old-school D&D player in the body of a twenty-three year-old Computer Science student.  He devised his character concept first, and then rolled his abilities and took them exactly as they fell in order, for more interesting role-playing.  Haven’t seen anyone do that in years.  He has been running a campaign of his own for some of his other friends who were also new to traditional RPGs, and is still amazed by the fact that you can suggest anything you like and there are no imaginary walls for your character to hit.

I’ve run a lot of games over the years, but I’m particularly excited about this one.  Nervous too.  These days I have no time to get lost in details and I think that’s a good thing.  I’m going in with a clear head, a page of notes, a hand-drawn map of a tower and the sense of a blank world ready to be coloured in by the player’s stories.

Let’s see how we go…

7 thoughts on “A New Adventure

  1. Porky says:

    I’m still amazed by it too. It’s always good fun, especially to go in light like that, fired up creatively, open-minded and ready for anything. Just to have that clear space and a group of people around the table to explore it, making something completely new as they go. Starting a campaign is a great moment. Maybe the hardest thing is waiting for the next session.

  2. Von says:

    I like that idea of passing the character’s identity along between successors!
    I’m less keen on determining the concept before you roll the stats, though. If we’re going to go for random character generation, I want the numbers set up first – I want the character I play and the mechanics I employ to work in harmony, not discord, and I always find that having an idea that doesn’t match the mechanics is like headbutting a piano, if you get my drift…

    • beat ronin says:

      I see your point. I also see where he’s coming from – he’d decided beforehand that he wanted to play a foundling monk, and he reasoned that just because the character was raised by a monk doesn’t mean she’d be born to monking. Definitely arguable either way though.

      It’s been fun. I decided to let the players make their characters however they wanted, and they each chose a different method. After all, we’re all grown-ups this time around, and no-one’s that interested in optimisation. It’s the least heavy-handed I’ve ever been as a GM, and I’m hardly an ogre to start with. Normally I insist everyone uses the same method but this time I thought why do I even do that? Let ’em do what they like, it doesn’t make that much difference anyway.

  3. Von says:

    Oh, I was just thinking in the rather mechanical sense that… if you didn’t choose to be an inept character, ineptitude can easily frustrate. I’ve played something similar – a protocol droid in a combat heavy Star Wars game who was min-maxed around the Bureacracy skill, and such a museum piece that his wires came out and he shut down arbitrarily during moments of stress. Thing is, I’d planned for him to be sub-optimal in play and so I was braced for it; I’d personally be twitching if I’d ended up with stats that were aggravatingly off-base. I’m projecting my perspective onto him, I know, but mostly because I worry about people’s choices potentially impacting their fun.

  4. トリーバーチ 日本 店舗

    • beat ronin says:

      Hey, look a Japanese spambot! I had to put you into Google Translate to find out that you read “Tory Burch Japan Store.” That’s what I get I suppose for having a Japlish blog name when I don’t speak or read Japanese properly.

      Ohayo gozaimasu Roboto-san!

Leave a Reply

