Infinity Terrain Update

I’ve gotten a bit more serious lately with my terrain project for Infinity.  The Infinity Australia facebook group is inspiring me.  People there tend to go all-out with their terrain and it encourages you to step up to the challenge.  But also it’s a little daunting.  I’ve never made terrain, except perhaps a few crumby cardboard buildings as a boy.  I initially wanted to make the whole table, but as a wise person once said: make it if you have more time than money, buy it if you have more money than time.  I don’t have much of either but I have less time, and I was moving slowly and not having much fun trying to build it all.  Best to prise open the wallet then.

This table for example, by Michael Hurrell and Clayton Teschward, is a dishearteningly fantastic example of the sort of table I'm aiming to build.

This table for example, by Michael Hurrell and Clayton Teschward, is a dishearteningly fantastic example of the sort of table I’m aiming to build.

It was my birthday recently, and with the spoils I have made an order from the excellent people at BP Laser Terrain in Brisbane.  It should be enough, combined with the odds and ends I have, to make a full table – some bought, some built.

Now, on to concept.  I’d like to make a cyberpunk/dystopian slum area of a megacity.  So for inspiration I’m thinking Judge Dredd crossed with the dingier parts of the city in Blade Runner.  Since I play Yu Jing, it will be a Yu Jing city, and since it’s a slum that means probably lots of Japanese people.  I’m thinking that they’ll be largely ateks (people without advanced tech; in this case, people too poor to own it).  I’ll need wrecked hi-tech vehicles, signs in Chinese and rebellious graffiti in Japanese.  Planned structures include a noodle shop, a yuan-yuan pirate hideout and storage warehouse, shabby dwellings, and some public toilets (because I’ve never seen toilets on a table).

I’m mostly looking forward to the painting and weathering stage, as that is the area where I actually feel comfortable!  But first, it must be buillt…

Till next time,

James

Leave a Reply

