Collecting Infinity the Smart Way

This is getting ridiculous, I’ve only ever played what, three games of Infinity, and my model collection is starting to overwhelm me.

Many of the models are works of art that anyone could appreciate. This O-Yoroi pilot is painted by Angel Giraldez.

Today I’m going to share something that may be useful if you’re just starting to collect models and play Infinity. Behold, my amazing three step-guide to not making the same mistakes I’ve made. Or, as I like to call it: Collecting Infinity the Smart Way.

  • Step One: Only buy models that you really want to paint.

In other words, buy for looks, not for stats. I know this sounds counter-intuitive when what you’re trying to do is control your collecting, but bear with me. Pretty much all Corvus Belli’s Infinity range looks kind of cool, and if you go around buying models because they look cool and might be fun to try out, you’re going to buy models every time your mood changes or you think of some new synergy.  And pretty soon you’re going to be swamped. Buying to paint also means you can get whatever you like.  So what if you’ve decided to play Yu Jing but you want the ALEPH Asura? Just buy her! Now you have a beautiful model in your collection to use as a proxy, and a leg-up on an ALEPH force later. Why not buy your favourite model from each faction?  You’re just buying them to paint, right?

  • Step two: Paint them.

This will not be a problem because you’ve only bought models you wanted to paint, not models you kind of wanted to try out and who are now staring at you accusingly from their blister packs with their cold metal eyes.

  • Step Three: Play games with the models you have, and proxy the rest.

When you find things that work well for you, then go back and buy them. Return to step two.

If I had followed this plan I would now have a dozen models I really love painted up, including a viable gaming army.  Instead I have a viable army of eight painted models, and a bunch of unpainted Celestial Guard, Remotes, doctors, Shaolin Monks, and Nomads. If the constant attempts to sell and swap still-packaged models on the Infinity Australia facebook page is anything to go by, I am definitely not alone.

You’ll notice I didn’t suggest buying a starter pack. This is because I have bought three, and each one had mostly models I liked, and one or two that are still in their packaging. The money I might have saved on a starter was outweighed by the money I spent trying make the starter into a force that was interesting to me. I would have spent less and had fewer unpainted models lying about if I’d bought what I liked piece-meal and proxied from the beginning.

So there you have it. If this helps even one person, I’ve done what I set out to do. Infinity is fun and the models are some of the best out there, so get to it.

All the best,

James

6 thoughts on “Collecting Infinity the Smart Way

  1. Von says:

    Funnily enough, this is how I’m trying to approach my Retribution of Scyrah. People have made some rather dark and ominous comments about how small the 15 point list is, and how unsuitable it is to spend nine points on six models. I have cheerfully pointed out that it’s a) painted and b) manageable, and that I’ll doubtless shell out on a 12-man unit or two once I’ve decided which ones I want. And I didn’t touch the battle box either, although ironically I kind of want to pick one up now as I really want to build a second Shyeel chassis (it’s a bit awkward to magnetise all the weapon options onto one, and my Phoenix has really ugly wrists now) and I can see uses for the other two ‘jacks in there and the Chimera looks kinda cool and I want to paint a Kaelyssa in a different colourscheme and…

    Ahem. The point is, I approve of your approach and am doing something similar myself; it seems to be working a lot better than my ‘buy what’s available second-hand’ or ‘buy what’s in the Theme Force’ efforts.

    • beat ronin says:

      Hi Von. I think my initial approach to collecting Infinity was shaped by the Warhammer games, which is not surprising since they were my main wargaming experience in the past. Because you buy the Infinity models as singles or in very small groups, and anything works if you use it right, it feels like they are cheap and that you can just get away with buying stuff without really thinking about it because you know you’ll use it one day.

      Unfortunately this approach causes costs to mount really quickly, and like you I’m a bit obsessive about frugality when it comes to gaming. A side effect of relative poverty and being old enough to have my gaming ethic formed in the days of DIY I guess.

  2. The Warlock says:

    I had a better comment, but wordpress ate it when I tried to log in 😦

    Essentially I said I’m kinda glad I have heaps of stuff already, as it’s keeping me from splurging on more infinity minis but if I didn’t, then I’d be doing the exact same thing you’ve suggested. It’s probably a symptom of mini-wargaming, to buy a tonne of stuff but never really get around to assembly/painting.

    • beat ronin says:

      Ha ha, yeah I find whichever platform I’m not on (which for me right now means blogger) is really temperamental when it comes to logging in. It’s getting annoying how many near-identical identities you have to have online these days just to be able to comment wherever you like.

      And this is what I’m doing now with Infinity. After I realized I’d spent maybe two hundred bucks on models and that if I kept going the way I was I’d have them all, sitting unassembled in a box. The older I get the less tolerance I have for boxes of things that are obviously never going to be built. I want to be a lean gaming machine with exactly what I need to use, painted how I want it, and nothing more. That’s the ideal anyway 😀

      By the way I’ve added your blog to my links, hopefully I’ll get time to comment soon.

  3. Von says:

    I think Malifaux has a similar kind of effect on me. I bought the Lacroix crew because I really wanted to paint some comedy goblins; done deal, they were finished within a week of purchase. Then I actually played some games and was advised to invest in some Slop Haulers, and I was given a Taxidermist as a gift, which meant I had to buy Piglets because rules. Funnily enough, none of this stuff is painted, although I’d have bought the Taxidermist anyway and had, ah, kind of forgotten that I owned one until now, and maybe I’ll paint him tomorrow…

    Anyway, I think the moral of the story is that you’re right; buy something you want to paint and you’ll paint it, buy something you’ve been told to get because rules and it’ll sit there being unwanted. Come to think of it, the whole situation’s a great advertisement for Skulldred: buy what you like, paint what you like, and pick rules you actually want.

    I should contact Dave and get the most recent rules and actually play some Skulldred, really. I’ve been on the mailing list forever but I don’t think I ever actually got further than “sign up, fail to return NDA, forget about it”.

    • beat ronin says:

      I emailed him a while ago and he seemed to be focused more on some miniature design projects right now. He said the next major revision of Skulldred was in the works, but still a little way off, and right now he was keen to go all out on some amazing tables for the official demo games at Cancon next year. Long story short, the version you get when you Google it (2 I think?) is the current beta.

      It’s really exciting though, I hope it pans out. I feel as though it will – from my very brief email contact with him I think he just seems to be one of those people who doesn’t do anything in a hurry!

Leave a Reply

