Skulldred

Lately I’ve managed to get my workload under control and restore some balance to my life.  I’ve also stopped following Warhammer 40,000, at least for the moment.  I don’t like the current aesthetic much, and I really don’t like the excessive demands on my time and money.  I’ll still play with friends of course, but I haven’t bought anything for the game in nearly two years now.  I’ve been slowly working on scenery and models for Infinity, and looking around for a fun fantasy-themed game to get me inspired for painting a few miniatures.

A couple of weeks ago my friend Von who writes for the House of Paincakes blog network put me onto a miniatures skirmish game being developed called Skulldred.  I’m really excited about this project – so much so that I contacted the designer, Dave King, and asked how I could help.  It turns out he lives in Sydney, which is only an hour and a half from my town of Canberra, and he is planning a display board and some warbands for Cancon next year.  Hopefully by then I’ll have a warband ready to join in for the demo.

Here is a quote from Dave:

Skulldred is a fun fantasy skirmish game designed from the ground up to let you play with any miniatures you like.
Build unit profiles to conform to your miniatures, not the other way around. No army books, no unbalanced factions, no cheaty must-buy models.

I’ve always wished that the more mainstream miniatures games had some sort of “build a unit” option.  I think it would resolve a lot of balance issues by making the points system of the game transparent, as well as allowing more freedom for the player to use their imagination.

Anyway as I said I’m really excited about this game.  Now I have a system that gives me an excuse to paint any miniatures I want.  First up will be this Frost Giant Princess from Reaper:

03431_w_1

All the best,

James

6 thoughts on “Skulldred

  1. sinsynn says:

    OMG this made me one happy Xeno!
    James is BACK, baby!
    Woot, and double woot!
    Y’know, today didn’t turn out as bad as it started!
    I actually chatted with Frontline Gamer for the first time in a while, I made arrangements to play Infinity with Nascar on Saturday, and I took the first steps towards making some kind of peace with The Ultimate Rival (even though I can sense that will be…maybe patience testing. Hey- I took the step)….
    And now I’m goin’ through my inbox, and…
    O-o
    What have we here?
    James is back!
    Ok. It’s 4:37 am, and I’m shaking off a nightmare. Lemme get back to bed.
    James, you can bet I’ll be sure to plug yer new jammie in this week’s post!
    I’m really glad to see you blogging again. I fully expect you to keep contributing to the conversation at the House, however.
    😉
    You see how I didn’t go with ‘writing posts in the comment sections’?
    Lolz!
    Man, I’m beat. Sleep now.
    Hopefully…

    • beat ronin says:

      Hey Sinsynn! Thanks for dropping by.

      As for my excessive commenting over at the House, yeeeahh . . . sorry about that. I will still be commenting there of course, but hopefully this will keep me a bit busier on the game front.

      Hope you managed to get back to sleep before work. I know how it is, my son seems to always have teeth burrowing up or a cold or something. I was up every hour last night myself. At least he goes back to sleep in a couple of minutes these days.

  2. sinsynn says:

    I keep thinking about Skulldred, and how it has some interesting potential.
    I’m not a fantasy guy, at all. I genuinely don’t like fantasy any more; although I can still read Robert E. Howard…cuz Robert E. Howard is badass.
    🙂
    It’s all just so cliche now. I suppose there’s always another princess to save, another evil overlord that needs stopping, another kingdom to conquer, and so on and so forth, but I just can’t do it anymore.
    I…just…can’t.
    But, still…Skulldred sounds interesting.
    So I went to their site.
    (You will tell no one of these things you have seen here this day…)
    Ok, so…there’s a good ol’ school fantasy scantily clad female right there on the front page…so maybe this ain’t so bad.
    If you play it and write about it, I’ll read it.
    But that’s all I’m committing to.
    Fer now.
    -_-

    • beat ronin says:

      Deal.

      I know how you feel about fantasy. In a lot of ways I think it is really limited, which is ironic. I like the aesthetic though, and after years of science fiction gaming it’s a nice change. There are just a world of miniatures out there that you don’t get to paint if you only do sci-fi.

      Imagine a sci-fi version of Skulldred. Actually it’s so open you could use it for anything.

  3. aeria_gloris says:

    I saw Von’s recommendation as well and I agree, it looks good. I prefer sci-fi over fantasy though (apart from Malazan Book of the Fallen), even if I don’t feel as strongly about it as sinsynn seems to 🙂 The whole ‘build your own unit’ sounds great though..

    I’m going to keep my eye on it and see what it leads to :p

    • beat ronin says:

      Hi aeria-gloris, thanks for commenting! One of the things I like about Skulldred is the genericism of the setting. Actually there is no setting, which is something I was planning to discuss here next week.

      It’s fantasy, but beyond that you have complete freedom. You could use models with guns or whatever. As I said to SinSynn I like the fantasy aesthetic, but particular fantasy works normally leave me cold.

Leave a Reply

